Moseley Architects’ Office
Originally built in 1930, this former industrial building is located in a historic district known as Scott’s Addition. Consequently, the design for renovation required close coordination with both the Virginia Department of Historic Resources and the National Park Service and features strategies that modernized the structure without compromising its historical integrity. The approach required incorporating the original skylights and garage door openings into the design, which contributes to one of the most interesting aspects of the facility—the natural daylight filtering into the building. A mezzanine level was added to substantially increase the amount of usable floor area and provide adequate work spaces for staff. A major goal for this facility was to showcase high-performance design strategies at work for clients and others. Examples include a rooftop garden; outdoor views from every workstation; the use of rapidly-renewable materials like bamboo and sunflower board; low-flow plumbing fixtures and waterless urinals; and an aggressive stormwater management plan. Earning LEED Platinum in 2009, it is only the fourth building on the historic register to accomplish this feat.